Bleeding gums while brushing

If you ask yourself whether it’s normal or not to have bleeding gums while brushing your teeth, well it surely isn’t. If your gums bleed it is then very likely that you have gum disease (or periodontal disease), which is the inflammation of the gums and it includes gingivitis and periodontitis.

Gingivitis is a mild form of gum disease and it can be expressed by pain, bleeding and redness of the gums. It is often caused by poor oral hygiene, but it’s reversible with professional cleaning and good oral home care.

Periodontitis is a more advanced stage of the disease and it occurs when gingivitis isn’t untreated. Plaque and toxins from bacteria go destroy the bone that supports teeth forming spaces between the gums and the teeth, making them eventually loose.

Periodontitis can also be a manifestation of systemic diseases such as heart disease, respiratory disease, and diabetes. But pre-existing periodontal disease can also worsen those conditions and cause serious medical illnesses.

Related Articles

Links

2 thoughts on “Bleeding gums while brushing

  1. Hi. I have in the past had gum disease several times. I was told by my dentist to brush my gums firmly. As a result I have lost a great deal of my gums as I brushed them firmly everyday over the last 2 years. I have looked online and not seen advise given to clients to brush gums. I am very angry about this. because I fell now that using mouth wash floss and light brushing. of the gums would have been enough. I am having having problems with hot and cold food and drink that touch the exposed part of the teeth were the gum has receded due to being brushed. I also feel I was given bad and harmful advice. I am now concerned in old age I may loose my teeth as a result of this. I am 44. I have began only brushing the gums lightly and possible only once a way. Can you advice. Was this advice appropriate or not?

    • Nicholas, I am sorry you have receding gums now.

      Brushing your gums is important, but it has to be done very gently and not firmly in order to prevent harming them. Therefore lightly brushing (circle movements with soft bristle tooth brush) and flossing daily is good for your gums.
      Mouth wash can be good, but it is not recommended to use it on a daily basis forever, only the few weeks it was recommended by your dentist.

Leave a Reply

